The TEI Consortium (TEI-C) has created the Rahtz Prize for TEI Ingenuity in memory of Sebastian Rahtz, who contributed significantly to the TEI infrastructure. The award is intended to honour Sebastian’s noteworthy technical and philosophical contributions to the TEI, and to encourage innovation in the TEI community. The Rahtz Prize for TEI Ingenuity is awarded to an individual or team judged to have made a significant contribution to the TEI-C's mission in particular by means of technical innovation. Many members of the TEI community are engaged in exploring new ways of implementing and expanding the coverage of the TEI encoding system. It is hoped that the Rahtz Prize will not only recognize excellent work already completed, but through its celebration and dissemination of nominated works also encourage new projects and fresh approaches. The recipient(s) of the 2017 award will receive $1,000 USD or equivalent.

The TEI community is encouraged to nominate prospective candidates for the Rahtz Prize. Self-nominations will also be accepted. You do not have to be a member of the TEI-C to make a nomination. The TEI community can also contact members of the Awards Panel to facilitate nominations: Gabriel Bodard ([log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>), Hugh Cayless ([log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>), or Michelle Dalmau ([log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>).

Nominations should be submitted through a form, which requires contact information for the nominee, or nominees in the case of a team, a project title, and a brief statement for the nomination: Nominators will be asked to provide their name and contact details for the record and to ensure they are not robots. These data will not be published or otherwise shared.

The Award Panel will review the nominations and extend invitations for applications by 15 April 2017<x-apple-data-detectors://6>. Nominees interested in applying will need to submit their application materials by 15 June 2017<x-apple-data-detectors://7>. For more information about the Rahtz Prize, including the nomination and application process, consult:

Nominations are due 1 April 2017<x-apple-data-detectors://9> by midnight Hawaii/Aleutian Standard Time (HAST).